Infographic: Monthly Library Report

“Hello.  My name is Fran, and I am an overachiever.”

What else explains why I never seem to be satisfied?  I have been on a quest to improve my monthly library reports since 2010 as discussed here, here, and here.  I had been using Word to create my reports but changed to PowerPoint this year.  I have found that I can create and edit charts so much easier with PowerPoint.  And I have been fairly pleased with my monthly reports. However…

I am a fan of infographics, so this morning when I saw this tweet from Sassy Librarian, I had to play:

Piktochart

Pikochart provides both free and upgraded accounts; as always, I opt for free.  Once I had registered for an account, I was presented with three infographic templates.  Because I wanted to present our monthly stats, I chose the Web 2.0 B template.

Once you choose a template, you can change the mood (Colour Scheme, Fonts, and Background Styles) and then begin editing. Your editing toolbox comes equipped with Tools (you can add images and charts), Shapes, Graphics, Text Editor, and Theme Graphics.

Not too bad for a first try, but since I am an overachiever…..

12 Responses to “Infographic: Monthly Library Report”

  1. Laurie Johnston Says:

    Love it! Great way to display the information in a format good for anyone–teachers, students, administrators, parents, public. Your library seems pretty busy!

  2. Char Vandervoort Says:

    Thanks for the heads up on Piktochart! I can’t wait to make an infographic!

  3. nataliesap Says:

    This is great! I love infographics too, so thanks for introducing me to a new tool!

  4. The DaringLibrarian (@gwynethjones) Says:

    OMGosh, Fran! I LOVE this!!! Do you mind if I blog this, too? Quoting you? What an amazing library you have!

  5. lundi blues Says:

    Hi Fran, Thank you for sharing this. I used this tool and your example to put together the annual report for our library :)

  6. Creating infographic on school eBook survey | The Way Forward Says:

    [...] (typeof(addthis_share) == "undefined"){ addthis_share = [];}Thanks to Fran Bullington‘s post on infographics, I decided to have a play and try to put the data from an eBook survey [...]

  7. Infographic: Monthly Library Report | Advocating for School Libraries | Scoop.it Says:

    [...] background-position: 50% 0px ; background-color:#1a8217; background-repeat : no-repeat; } informania.wordpress.com – Today, 5:59 [...]

  8. Infographic: Monthly Library Report | Making Infographics | Scoop.it Says:

    [...] “Hello. My name is Fran, and I am an overachiever.” What else explains why I never seem to be satisfied? I have been on a quest to improve my monthly library reports since 2010 as dis…  [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,154 other followers

