Please Say You Have More Books Like This!!!

I frequently add to a running book order list I keep on Follett’s Titlewave.  Today as I was checking into a title that Pamela Hill recommended on her awesome blog, I discovered a new (at least to me) feature Follett has added.

Is this awesome, or what?  For those of us who are often too busy to read review journals or blogs to discover great books to add to our collections (that wouldn’t describe you, would it?), Follett has added a scrolling list of Read-Alikes above the reviews.  And taking it one step further, this feature tells me I may already own some of the recommended titles (in the screenshot above, my collection already includes 4 of the 5 titles).

Now when students run breathlessly up to the Circulation Desk and frantically say, “Please say you have more books like this!” not only can we check the title’s Destiny catalog record for recommendations, I can check the title record in Titlewave.  It offers more Read-Alike titles than Destiny and lets me discover titles I might want to add to our collection.

I am going to earn my Collection Development Black Belt much sooner than I expected!

3 Responses to “Please Say You Have More Books Like This!!!”

  1. Heather Loy Says:

    Cool. Thanks for sharing, I’ll have to check it out. Also, don’t forget the wonderful folks at DISCUS added Novelist to the DISCUS (scdiscus.org) lineup. Novelist is wonderful at providing read-a-likes and reviews to help librarians, teachers, and students find new titles to read!

    • Fran Bullington Says:

      I know! It’s one of the reasons I am excited about the changes with SC DISCUS this year! Didn’t include it in the post since not everyone is fortunate enough to have access to it.

  2. Please Say You Have More Books Like This!!! | Lifelong Learning through Libraries and Technology | Scoop.it Says:

    [...] I frequently add to a running book order list I keep on Follett’s Titlewave.  Today as I was checking into a title that Pamela Hill recommended on her awesome blog, I discovered a new (at least to me) feature Follett has added.  [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,163 other followers

