Lazy, Hazy, Crazy Days of Summer

Roll out those lazy, hazy, crazy days of summer
Those days of soda and pretzels and beer
Roll out those lazy, hazy, crazy days of summer
You’ll wish that summer could always be here

Lyrics by Charles Tobias

 Nat King Cole was one of my mother’s favorite artists so we listened to his records often.  The lyrics to this song always come to mind when the last school bell rings for the year. 

As an adult, I often long for the lazy days of summer freedom I experienced as a child.  

 

These days included:

ice cream trucks

running through sprinklers

trips to the neighborhood swimming pool

catching lightning bugs in Duke’s mayonnaise jars 

Vacation Bible School

 Myrtle Beach

 weekly trips to the public library

 picnics with fried chicken and deviled eggs

July 4th fireworks

popsicles

home-churned peach ice cream

watermelon

tag

softball

Marco Polo

backyard cookouts

star gazing

skimming stones across a lake or pond

As a product of the 1950s, my childhood memories will vary greatly from those of my grandchildren.  Will they remember long summer afternoons of playing video games, surfing the internet, or watching television?  I hope not.

I am a self-professed technology junkie. I will spend many hours this summer learning more about technology tools to use in the classroom, but I don’t want my grandchildren’s lives to revolve around technology.  Summer was a magical season for me, and I want it to be so for my grandchildren.  So, I will break out the sprinkler, vacuum the pool, save the mayo jars, and gaze at stars.  I will grill out hamburgers, use the electric churn to make peach ice cream, and play games of tag until I fall down, exhausted.  I will create bubbles with wands, help little hands master the craft of skimming stones, and build sandcastles.

What memories will summer hold for your children and grandchildren?

 

image courtesy of adwriter, used through a Creative Commons license

 

 

2 Responses to “Lazy, Hazy, Crazy Days of Summer”

  1. Heather Loy Says:

    Fran, as a child of the 70’s, I remember all of those things, too, except substitute Girl Scout Camp instead of Vacation Bible School. Mom’s family always rented a house at Myrtle Beach for a week. Dad’s family always took us to Tennessee to visit their relatives for a week. Add to the list: volleyball games, rollerskating, swimming lessons, bicycling around the block (hundreds of times), walking to the mini-mart for candy, making/eating Kool-aid Popsicles, boating/swimming at Lake Murry and Sesquicentennial State Park, Sunday cookouts with family and neighbors…

    Today’s kids spend more time in front of a screen (TV or Computer) whereas, my friends/family and I spent most of our time outdoors. We didn’t have cable until I was in high school, up until then it was the basic four channels (CBS, NBC, ABC, and PBS!) and computers, forget about it, we couldn’t afford one until I was well out of college in the late 90’s! Looking back and thinking about how kids today spend their time it disturbs me…knowing how much they are missing out on! Plus, realizing that kids today can’t do the things we did…neighborhoods aren’t as safe. Growing up, I don’t think my or my neighbor’s back doors were ever locked (front doors were, but front doors were only for “company,” no one else used ’em!) We spent so much time unsupervised and roaming the neighborhood at large and no one gave a thought to gangs or child predators. Oh, how times have changed, and not necessarily for the better.

  2. J W ponton Says:

    Summer in the 1960’s on the Texas Gulf Coast was 25 cent watermelons, dill pickle snowcones at the little league ball park, base ball with the neighbor kids, hand churned ice cream, pea picking , making muscadine jelly, fishing on the Surf Side jetty, catching lightning bugs, putting june bugs down the necks of girls, sneaking into the Woodruff pasture to bass fish and sleeping in front of a fan sweating in the 95 % humidity with no air conditioning. It was another world from another century. My grandchildren will see very little of this and will be worse off for it.


Leave a Reply

