Taking Control of Your Clogged Gmail Inbox

gmail overload by ario_j.

I have a love/hate relationship with email.  Each day I open my Gmail in the expectation that I will get a great email from a family member or friend that will just make my day.  Those are the emails I read immediately.  But there are countless other emails that greet me as I open my inbox. 

 I have recently spent time unsubscribing from several automated emails, but there are other automated emails  I still wish to receive but may not have the time or inclination to read pronto.  They sit in my inbox – a reminder that if I don’t know exactly what to do with an email, my inbox never seems to get cleared out.

So this morning when  I stumbled across the “Problogger” blog, I was overjoyed to read  the post entitled “From 10,000 to 0 Emails in an Inbox in 24 Hours” . It  inspired me to try Gmail’s filtering feature to alleviate the Inbox Clog that I typically experience.

Use the Gmail Filtering Feature

To set up filtering on your Gmail, click on “Settings,” “Filters,” and then “Create a New Filter.”  You can then choose from five different search criteria:  “From,” ” To,” ” Subject,” ” Has the Words,” ” Doesn’t Have. ”  Type in your terms, click on “Test Search,” and analyse your results.

From there, you can choose:  “Skip Inbox (Archive It),” “Mark as Read,” “Star It,” “Apply the Label,” “Forward it To,” “Delete It,” and/or “Never Send it to Spam.”  Then click on “Create Filter” and take control of your Inbox! 

You can also choose to color code your labels.  Find the box on your Gmail Inbox page labeled “Labels.”  Click on the box to the right of the label you wish to color code and choose your color.  

Google also provides a demo of using labels and filters.

Be Ruthless

You may create as many filters as you wish.  Be ruthless – take control of that Inbox!

Any other suggestions on how to tame my inbox?

 

Image attribution:  Gmail overload  http://www.flickr.com/photos/20645801@N00/20732186

One Response to “Taking Control of Your Clogged Gmail Inbox”

  1. Heather Loy Says:

    LOL. At work I’m known as the email queen – i receive more and send more than anyone else! I get hundreds of emails a day at my work account (due to listserv subscriptions) and have filters to send them to according to listserv name. My method of reading is to scan the sender/subjects and read only the ones that interest me – everything else gets trashed. It helps that I check my email frequently throughout the day. In fact, email is the best way to get in touch w/ me as I tend to ignore the telephone.


Leave a Reply

