Kindle Problem Solved!

As I shared in an earlier post, I am one of many of thousands of people who helped the Kindle 3 become Amazon’s all time best seller.

Almost all blog posts that I read concerning the Kindle included the passion the blogger had for their new device.

I didn’t share that passion because I was having a problem with my Kindle 3 that was extremely frustrating. My Kindle seemed to have a mind of its own; it would reboot for no apparent reason several times a day.  I would be engrossed in reading Tess Gerritsen’s The Mephisto Club only to be rudely interrupted by a sudden reboot.

The reboot would take several minutes and had prevented the Kindle from bookmarking where I had been interrupted in my reading.

User Error?

At first, I assumed that I was the one at fault; perhaps I had not read and followed the instructions correctly.  So I followed the troubleshooting guide and restarted my Kindle.  Didn’t solve the problem.  Next I followed the instructions and reset my Kindle to the factory settings.  Didn’t solve the problem (and I lost the few pdf files I had placed on the Kindle).

Amazon Customer Service Q&A Community

I checked the Q&A Community and discovered the problem wasn’t with my Kindle (yay!) but with the leather cover that was purchased with it from Amazon.  I removed the cover and the Kindle has not rebooted once. Several different reasons were given on the forum for the reason the cover was causing the problem (the metallic hooks were causing interference, the cover itself causes static electricity, etc.) but whatever the reason, the cover is the problem, not the Kindle.

Now I can wholeheartedly say that I love reading on the Kindle!  I will be contacting Amazon later today to determine what the next step is with the replacing the cover, but I am a much happier camper today than I have been.

For those using Kindles in their schools, what cover are you using to protect the Kindle?

 

****Update****

I contacted Amazon Support last night and was VERY satisfied with the results.  Not only did Amazon refund the faulty cover price, but they also gave me a $25 promotional offer to apply to any cover I order through them.  If you’ll read the comment from Heather Loy below, you’ll see the cover that I choose – it doesn’t hook into the Kindle at all.


4 Responses to “Kindle Problem Solved!”

  1. Doug Johnson Says:

    Hi Fran,

    Thanks for this. I gave 3 members of my family Kindles (and covers with the built in lights) for Christmas, so if they have problems I can be the all-wise trouble-shooter!

    Happy new year and keep on blogging!

    Doug

    • Fran Bullington Says:

      Doug,

      Ah, you are already the all-wise one! The covers with the built-in lights are NOT causing problems, according to all I have read. I am going to be “trading up” to that very cover.

      I hope your family members are enjoying their Kindles as much as I am (now).

  2. Heather Loy Says:

    I use covers from M-Edge. I like that the tabs that hold the eReaders in have elastic to make removing the readers easy and I’m not afraid of breaking the covers. See here:
    http://www.amazon.com/M-Edge-Platform-Kindle-Display-Generation/dp/B00492CADU/ref=sr_1_6?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1294017717&sr=1-6

    • Fran Bullington Says:

      Heather,

      Love this cover! Decided to go with it rather than the lighted Kindle leather cover. Like the idea of the cover turning into a book stand, making it hands-free reading it you so desire.

      As always, thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

