But, Officer…..

Definitely not proud of this, but on Tuesday morning I was speeding (57 in a 35 zone).  And I got caught.  (Please note:  there are no houses –  nor open businesses at 7:15 a.m. – on this stretch of road.  I know, it doesn’t change the fact that I was speeding, but I don’t want any of my readers to think I would drive this fast through an area where people are out and about.)

You know how you feel like a chastised child when pulled over by an officer of the law? It is embarrassing to sit there and wait while the officer checks your license and license plate and writes you a ticket (or a warning in this case).  Well, to compound the embarrassment, I personally knew the officer who stopped me:  not only was he a former student of mine (7th grade English), but I had also worked with him at my high school – he was once one of our SROs.

Lesson to be Learned

I am a firm believer in learning from my mistakes.  I will not be speeding on that stretch of road again.  I would like to promise that I would not ever speed again, but let’s face it.  I’ve driven for 40 years and I know myself.  I will be more mindful of my speed – I can promise that.

It doesn’t end with just that lesson learned, though.

I was running late on my self-imposed schedule and had only one purpose in mind as I took off from home that morning:  to make up for lost time so I wouldn’t get stuck parking in Timbukto at the conference.

With blinders on, I did not see Officer C’s car until it was too late.  Which is what happens in life in general.  When our focus is too narrowed, we overlook details not associated with it.  We barrel ahead, shutting ourselves off from anything that might detract our attention.

And we miss opportunities. Opportunities to make a difference in others’ lives.

“I expect to pass through this world but once.  Any good thing, therefore, that I can do or any kindness I can show to any fellow human being let me do it now.  Let me not defer nor neglect it, for I shall not pass this way again.”

~Stephen Grellet, 1773-1855
French-born Quaker Minister

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Image used through a Creative Commons license:

“P4040002”
http://www.flickr.com/photos/11441121@N04/2477713305

One Response to “But, Officer…..”

  1. Cathy Jo Nelson Says:

    LOL too funny and boy have I ever been in these shoes.. Sorry for just now reading this–it was a hectic month in June.


Leave a Reply

